Yucca Valley

Yucca Valley, California.  I walk into a coffee shop and within five minutes I’m sitting across from a lady who’s reading my aura and numerological life path and accessing my Akashic Records.

Things are different out here on the fringes of the desert.  The people are different, there’s something about the vibe out here.  The dusty wind blasts against my car as I sit in a parking lot listening to Eddie Vedder.  The birds fight through the incessant gale, battered and tossed against the sky.  I am the palm trees standing into the sun, my fronds whipping back behind my face.

In the early afternoon I walk into a Dominoes and I’m greeted by an overworked-looking girl.  “Welcome to Dominoes.  How are you?”

“I’m doing great!  How are you?”

“…I’m aiite.”

“Just alright?”

She raises her eyebrows and sighs.

“Aw man,” I say.  “One of those days?”

I chat with her for a few minutes until I get her to smile despite herself.

“How can I help you?”  She finally asks.

“I was just wondering if you ever have burned pizzas or messed up orders that you might give away.”

“Yeah, all the time.  Come back at like 5—that’s when our rush starts—and there’ll probably be something eventually.”

I’m back around 5.  I wait while someone else places an order, and then I step up to the counter.  The girl takes one look at me and smiles.  “Hi!  I remember you.”  She makes a quick scan of kitchen and then calls into back, “Hey throw in a large pepperoni!”

“Wait—” I say.  “What?”

“Yeah, we don’t have any extras right now.  But don’t worry about it.”

“What! I mean, I have a book, I was planning to just sit around and read until maybe something—”

“Nah, don’t worry about it.  I’ll just have them throw something in.”

So I sit down in stunned disbelief.  15 minutes later, another girl waves to me.  “Sir?  Your pizza is ready.”

My friend returns from a storage room.  “Enjoy!”

I laugh.  “Oh my god.  I can’t believe you did this for me.”

She just smiles.  “Have a beautiful night.”

I say “thank you” like twelve times, and then two minutes later I’m sitting out in my car eating a piping hot fresh pepperoni pizza that I got for free.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yucca Valley

  1. Kathi says:

    It must be “the smile”! :-))
    Have a beautiful night……thinking of you in the middle of nowhere…..hopefully warm and dry.

    K

  2. Michaela says:

    Dave, I’m not sure if I told you this or not, but I am so happy you finally started this! You are a wonderful story teller and have beautiful stories to tell. Happy new year! Xoxo

  3. drea says:

    this reminds me of a joke my cousins tell almost every time I get to see them: what’s the best kind of beer? free beer
    so you got the best kind of pizza- free pizza, made better by the intent of it

  4. Kenza says:

    I would have given you free pizza too if I worked at Dominoes….I would give you free anything…man reading these posts makes me realize why I love you and our friendship but it also makes me miss you so much.

    p.s. you talk ab the music you listen to in your car, and I have no idea who Eddie Vedder is, what kind of music is that?

    p.p.s. has vertical horizon floated out of your speakers recently?

  5. Dave Korn says:

    can’t wait until the day we get to hang out again.

    eddie vedder = the into the wild soundtrack. i think you would probably enjoy it.

    and…. yes, as a matter of fact. today. that cd is in my stack, and i pause in reminiscence every time i thumb past it.

Leave a Reply

